Failure Is the Road to Social Media Marketing Success

Posted: February 26, 2013 in Goals & Success, Social Media Marketing
Tags: , , , ,

Failure Is A Necessary Part of Success

To have never failed means to have never tried.

Thomas Edison Lamp“I have not failed, I’ve just found 10,000 ways that won’t work.” Thomas Edison

My Social Media Objective

Once again, my Social Media Marketing class was given an assignment to come up with a social media objective and then to blog about our experiences.


My objective was to:

  • Determine which of my current pins on Pinterest had the highest amount of re-pins
  • Pin new pins to Pinterest and get one of those pins to get double the amount of re-pins that my highest-pinned pin had received

I had seven days to achieve this objective.

My Current Pinterest & Analytics Accounts

I signed up for my personal Pinterest Account in mid-December of 2012. I currently have 141 boards, 3,859 pins, and 151 followers.

I already had a free account with Pingraphy. Pingraphy allows you to upload and schedule pins and track your activity on Pinterest. Pingraphy gives you a minimal amount of information and it doesn’t update very often. The site shows your top ten pins and your board stats. My boards with the most re-pins were Success Quotes and Camping. My top three pins had 21-33 re-pins. This meant that I needed to pin something that would get 66 pins. I had six days left to achieve this.

The Hint of Failure Was in the Air

I decided that there were two things that I had to do to achieve my objective. One was to find a better Pinterest analytics tool and the other was to start pinning a lot of pins, especially success quotes and camping tips.

I started pinning a lot of pins and kept a log so that I could track those pins and monitor their success. What I didn’t realize is that I would never have a way to track them. I also started searching for a better analytics tool. I signed up for every free service that I could find and along the way I found quite a few services that weren’t free. Unfortunately, none of these services was what I needed. The free services that I found offered:

  • Analytics for pins pinned from your site/blog to Pinterest
  • Your “Pinfluence” similar to your Klout score
  • Campaigns to set up (you set a budget & demographic)
  • A page that kept loading and loading and loading (and still is). According to the forums, this site has been down since October. It is beyond me why they continue to let people sign up for new accounts.

The end result on Pingraphy was that none of my pins even made it into the top ten.

Was It Failure OR The Path to Success?

Thomas Edison quote about failure“Develop success from failures. Discouragement and failure are two of the surest stepping stones to success.” ~ Dale Carnegie



I’ve learned quite a bit during this adventure. As my college professor put it, “The journey in social media is just as important as the destination.”

I’ve learned that:

  • It is important to have an attainable objective.
  • It is important to have a strategic plan and to do your research first.
  • Social media is somewhat of a game and we can’t always control the outcome.
  • ALL successful people failed before they became successful.
  • You must know your target audience, what they want, and how and when they want it.
  • It takes time to build an engaged audience. You need to have a long-term strategy.
  • Success requires calculated risks and failures along the way.
  • You need to test different strategies in an environment that supports failure.
  • When it comes to social media you need to have a student mentality and always be learning. Just when you think you “know it”, it will change.

“Success consists of going from failure to failure without loss of enthusiasm.” ~ Winston Churchill

Comments
  1. What a ride! It certainly sounds like you dealt with your share of disappointment on this one Lisa, yet based on your account, I think very valuable things were learned. That makes it all worth it!

    So where do you go from here? Do you have any new strategies you’ll want to try toward achieving that high pin number of 66?

  2. LisaBoerum says:

    I wrote this post on February 26th. On that date Pingraphy said that my top “repinned” pin had 33 pins. Today, March 6th, Pingraphy says my “top pin” has 21 repins. I went into my Pinterest account to the quote that had the 33 pins and there it is, still with 33 pins. I guess I can’t trust the information that I get from Pingraphy.

  3. mkhmarketing says:

    I am fascinated by the detail of real social media marketing experiments on this blog. What an interesting class. Do you feel you learnt a lot?

    • LisaBoerum says:

      Yes, I am learning a lot from this class. We have a great instructor that ensured the entire class was “social” from the start. That has made it both fun and educational. We are finishing up the semester by doing a complete social media plan for a business. I love planning and organizing, so that will be the highlight of the class.

Leave a Reply

